Arizona takes driving under the influence seriously and backs that up with tough penalties for those convicted of DUI. Whether you are accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you should know exactly what you may face in the event that your charges lead to a conviction.
If you have a blood alcohol content level (BAC) of 0.08% or more, you can face these charges. For drugs, if any amount of illegal drugs are found in your system, you will face the same consequences. You should be aware that even drugs that you are legally prescribed under the care of your doctor can land you in hot water if they impede your ability to drive safely.
Here’s What to Know About Arizona’s DUI Penalties
When you take a breathalyzer test, if the results reveal a BAC of 0.08% or higher, you will lose your driving privileges. You can apply for a restricted permit or get it reinstated — your DUI attorney can help you with that.
What happens next will depend on if you have any prior DUI offenses on your record. Here’s what you may be able to expect for a DUI arrest.
DUI First Offense
Arizona considers a first-offense DUI a Class 1 misdemeanor. It is punishable by 10 days in jail, fines of $1,250, mandatory alcohol screening and treatment, and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You should also expect to serve community service if you are convicted of DUI.
Arizona’s DUI laws can get more complicated when your blood alcohol content clocks in at 0.15% or more. This is what is known as an extreme DUI charge, and if it is your first offense, you could serve 30 days in jail without eligibility for probation or a suspended sentence.
Additionally, you’ll have fines of $2,500 along with mandatory alcohol screening and treatment. As with a DUI charge with a BAC under 0.15%, you may also need to get an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle and fulfill community service obligations.
Aggravated DUI Penalties
It is possible to receive aggravated DUI charges even if it’s your first arrest. Aggravated DUI charges are typically reserved for those who are arrested for DUI with a minor under the age of 15 in the car, driving on a suspended license, or for those who have committed a third DUI in only 84 months. There are other situations where the charges against you may be considered aggravated.
The penalties are harsh indeed, leaving you to face up to two years in jail. You will also need to fulfill mandatory alcohol screening and treatment, install the interlock ignition device on your vehicle, and provide community service. Keep in mind that these penalties only get more severe with every subsequent DUI conviction.
Even if it’s your first time, you will be subject to administrative penalties that include having your driver’s license suspended for 90 days. Convictions have other consequences as well, which is why you must contact a DUI lawyer immediately.